Association of Language Testers in Europe

With the increase in global migration, the multilingual society is a reality for many countries around the world. This has led to a boom in language teaching and, at the same time, the need for the consistent assessment of language skills.

Recognising the need for a consistent approach for language tests at the international level, the Universities of Cambridge and Salamanca initiated ALTE in 1989. The initial aim was to establish common standards for language testing across Europe, thereby supporting multilingualism and helping preserve the rich linguistic heritage of Europe. These standards were to ensure a fair, accurate and impartial assessment based on common criteria for each skill and level. ALTE also works towards the recognition of examinations worldwide and the comparison of qualifications in other languages.
ALTE currently has 34 members, 40 institutional affiliates, and several hundred individual affiliates. ALTE’s members include the main language assessment bodies, such as the Goethe-Institut, the CIEP and the University of Cambridge.

The INL has been a member of ALTE since 1995.

alte

Association of Language Testers in Europe

Avec l’augmentation de la migration mondiale, la société multilingue est une réalité pour de nombreux pays dans le monde entier. Cela a mené à l’essor de l’enseignement des langues et, en parallèle, à la nécessité d’une évaluation cohérente des compétences linguistiques.

Reconnaissant la nécessité d’une approche cohérente pour les tests de langue au niveau international, les Universités de Cambridge et de Salamanque ont initié ALTE en 1989. L’objectif initial de ALTE était d’établir des normes communes pour l’évaluation des langues en Europe pour soutenir son multilinguisme et l’aider à préserver son riche patrimoine linguistique. Ces normes devaient garantir une évaluation juste, précise et impartiale basée sur des critères communs pour chaque compétence et niveau. Enfin sont visées la reconnaissance des examens dans le monde entier et la comparaison des qualifications dans d’autres langues.
ALTE compte actuellement 34 membres, 40 affiliés institutionnels et plusieurs centaines d’affiliés individuels. Parmi ses membres figurent les principaux organismes d’évaluation de langue comme le Goethe Institut, le CIEP ou encore l’Université de Cambridge.

L’INL est membre de ALTE depuis 1995.

alte